VIDEO: Highlights of the Northern Oregon Coast

The Oregon Coast is my absolute happy place. The whole state is ridiculously amazing and we had a fantastic time exploring the Columbia River Gorge, Bend and Crater Lake last summer, but something about the coast always makes me feel like I’m coming home. The goonies-loving man says that Astoria in particular is his ‘spiritual home’ and getting out of the car at Rogue Brewery is when I know I’m really on vacation.

This year was our fifth consecutive BC Day long weekend trip to Oregon (sorry, BC) and we packed a lot into the three full days we had there. This particular trip was a mix of some of our favourite places (Astoria, Cannon Beach, Ecola State Park, Oswald West State Park, Cape Meares, Oceanside) and some new places too (Netarts Bay, Anderson’s Viewpoint, the top of the sand dune at Cape Kiwanda). As we only had three days we stuck to the Northern towns and split our time between the Hearthstone Inn at Cannon Beach and an Airbnb in Netarts Bay.

I decided to play videographer on this trip, partly to test out the video capabilities of my new iPhone 6S. It turns out the footage is scarily better than our previous videos using our little kodak camera (that I forgot on this trip). So that’s good to know. I love documenting snapshots in time through photo and video and before making this I watched a number of our older videos including our group trip to Hawaii, our first ever Christmas in Canada and our first year with Dave. It was a really fun and moving half hour or so, and I may have shed more than one happy tear looking back on some amazing memories.

So here’s another one to add to the list. I was videographer, director and producer for this one, which means I only actually make an appearance in front of the camera twice. However, if you like boston terriers, bearded men and beaches then please enjoy this Marmite to Maple production: Oregonna Make A Great Movie (tagline by James).

Talking about the Oregon coast is one of my favourite things in the world, so if you have any questions or are looking for trip planning advice, get in touch.

Tags: , , , , ,

About MarmitetoMaple

I'm originally from the UK and have been working and living the dream in Vancouver, BC, since January 2011. I am a firm believer in travel, good cheese, volunteering and community engagement.

4 responses to “VIDEO: Highlights of the Northern Oregon Coast”

  1. Dan B says :

    Damn, I love the Oregon coast. This post and the video brought back a lot of happy memories. I’ve spent a ton of time there, I’m so tempted to move over that way once I get a green card. I feel like maybe it’s a great place to visit but not the best place to live though. Although Portland is one of my favourite cities and I could happily live there, I think many others feel the same though and the housing prices are going up! (Probably still not as bad as Vancouver though!)

    • MarmitetoMaple says :

      “Once I get a green card” has to be the most jealousy-inducing phrase in the English language! Amazing! In my dream life I’m living in an apartment in Portland and have a weekend cabin somewhere like Cannon Beach or Manzanita (for significantly less than a basement suite in Vancouver!), but yes that’s definitely very much a dream. Until then I’ll settle for my annual BC Day pilgrimage 🙂

  2. ST says :

    Hello,
    I have few questions about IEC Working Holiday work permit, that I thought you might be able to help me with.
    I have been working in Canada since a year and a half and my temporary work permit is valid till this December.

    I renewed my first temporary work permit couple of months back from within Canada. I did not re-enter the country to activate it . After reading some posts on internet (I think including one of your posts) indicating one actually needs to re-enter Canada to activate a work permit, I am wondering why I wasn’t told to do so and if I am still really fine! my first question:)

    I applied to IEC Working Holiday program as a German citizen and received the invitation to apply letter today.
    My current temporary work permit will expire this December and currently I am looking for a new job. I am applying for PR too.

    I would like to activate (use) my Working Holiday open work permit only when I have no other option (because I can get IEC working holiday only once and don’t want to waste it).

    The question is, can I activate my Working Holiday open work permit any time within the 12 month after it is issued, while I am in Canada? Let’s say, my current job gets extended and I renew my current work permit for another 6 month while having received the Working Holiday. or after December I stay as a visitor for a while in Canada or use any other option and decide to activate the IEC permit later within the 12 months. Would that be OK? I thought as I am already in Canada when receiving the IEC permit it gets activated immediately?

    Another thing is, can I apply for jobs telling the employer that I have IEC permit and can activate it as soon as they give me the job?
    Sorry about so many questions:X. The last one is, can my future employer still get me LMIA while I have activated the IEC working holiday permit or it will give me the disadvantage of not being able to apply for LMIA (and loose those points for Express Entry)?

    I would really really appreciate your help and guidance!
    Have a great day

    • MarmitetoMaple says :

      Hi there, thank you for the comment! I will do my best to answer some of your questions. Not all work permits need to be activated by leaving the country, many temporary work permits are valid as soon as they arrive and you just put them in your passport, so don’t worry about that, sounds like you’re fine 🙂 The great thing about the IEC is that you have a year to activate it, so yes, you can definitely wait until activate it closer to the end of the 12 months if that’s better for your situation. You can leave and enter Canada as many times as you like and your IEC won’t be activated until you actually hand over your letter at the border. For your final question, from what I understand you are still eligible for LMIA while on a work permit, but I would double check this by calling CIC just in case. Hope this helps! 🙂

Leave a Reply

