2013: Keeping Things Simple

2013 is a new year, and with every new year comes new year’s resolutions. This year I’ve cut my list down to six things I’d like to focus on and I’ve kept them relatively simple. I’m not a big fan of odd numbers, so I’m slightly anxious about being 25 in 2013. Here’s hoping that my weird phobia is just that…weird and unnecessary. 

1. Drink less diet coke

Those of you who know me are well aware that I’m not a big alcoholic drinker, though this isn’t always the healthy choice when the alternative is pints of sugary rubbish. Last year I gave up regular coke for diet coke, though the North American tradition of free refills means that I’ll often get through four or five glasses of the bad stuff in an evening. Granted; most of each glass is ice, but the aspartame (E961) still adds up. This year I’m going to cut down even more and switch my diet coke for soda water & cranberry juice. It’s nowhere near as sweet, but I know I can condition myself to get used to it. If you see me out in a bar, please check my glass!

2. See more of Canada

This resolution might look familiar, as it took pride of place on last year’s list. I didn’t meet my goal of visiting the Rockies in 2012, but I’m hoping to get there this year. I’m also committing to making the most of my transit pass and exploring Greater Vancouver more. This part should be slightly easier than travelling across the country and will make sure I discover what’s on my doorstep.

3. Document my year with pictures

I was lucky enough to receive a brand new camera from Santa this year, and I can’t wait to put it to good use. What better excuse to get out in the fresh air and see the city and country I live in? I’d love to learn more about how to use my new toy properly, so I’ll look into some lessons for both taking and editing photos. Stay tuned for some new images in 2013!

Image

4. Increase control over my finances

This is another way of saying ‘save some more money’ without putting a number out there that I may not meet. It also includes putting together a realistic fortnightly budget and shopping around for a credit card with the kind of rewards that I’ll actually use. 

5. Improve my flexibility

Fact: I am one of the least flexible people I know. I’ve always had a little too much trouble touching my toes, and now I’ve taken up running my calves and hamstrings are only getting tighter. I’m not quite ready to jump into full on yoga bunny mode just yet, but I’m making more of an effort to stretch after exercise and to practice some basic yoga poses twice a week (thanks YouTube!).

6. Stop stressing about making decisions

I read an interesting anecdote from President Obama over the holidays about how stress is often related to decision making. He admitted to only wearing blue and grey suits and having the same thing for breakfast and lunch each day to cut down on the decisions he needs to worry about. With the basic day to day choices set from the start, he has much more brainpower left to focus on running the country. This year I’d like to focus my inner President on identifying the decisions that cause me the most stress and then eliminating them one by one. 

About MarmitetoMaple

I'm originally from the UK and have been working and living the dream in Vancouver, BC, since January 2011. I am a firm believer in travel, good cheese, volunteering and community engagement.

4 responses to “2013: Keeping Things Simple”

  1. Nick Benson says :

    Hello. What is the transit pass you refer to for Vancouver? Is it like a year round travel card? Any more info would be great. Thanks 🙂

    • marmitetomaple says :

      Hi Nick, thanks for the comment. Translink offer a number of fare options including monthly passes. The cost per month varies depending on the number of zones you’d like to travel in, and there’s also an employer pass program which an save you more money if your employer participates. As a guide, a 1 zone pass is $91 per month, which is a saving of $19 a month for the average commuter. More info is here: http://www.translink.ca/en/Fares-and-Passes.aspx

  2. Holly in Wanderlust says :

    Love this post…you’ve inspired me to do some of my own! Good luck with the photos! Xxx

Leave a Reply

