The Final Countdown

This time in 4 days I’ll be beginning my descent into Vancouver International Airport, which is for some reason abbreviated to YVR.  It’s getting pretty close now, and the final countdown has well and truly begun this week with the release of the contact details of other BUNAC participants booked onto the group flight.  It just so happens that I’m running low on reading material for the plane, but it doesn’t look like that’s going to matter as there will be 37 other people to talk to!

I was expecting 10-15 others to have booked onto the flight through BUNAC, but it’s great to see that there’ll be even more of us turning up to the airport decked out in ski jackets, bulky hoodies and a million and one layers dragging the world’s biggest suitcases and weeping relatives (just me?).  What’s even better is chatting to everyone and realising that I’m not the only one who hasn’t quite finalised my CV, told my bank I’m leaving the country, or chosen how many pairs of shoes to take with me.

They're not all mine....honest?

Whilst I have noticed that I’m sleeping less and grinding my teeth more (classic anxious Lizzie) I’m also thinking about what to wear to the airport and planning my first few days in the city (classic excited Lizzie).  The more I worry the more I realise that there are dozens of things I haven’t done that I could have, or even should have, but the more I also recognise that none of these things are likely to really make a difference in the long run.

Anyone who knows me (and anyone who doesn’t but has been reading this blog) will know that I like to plan.  I’m not a total Monica Gellar, but part of me definitely subscribes to the notion of ‘organised fun’.  As a result, most of my anxiety stems from the fact that in 4 days time I’m going to be in a brand new situation that I cannot possibly imagine let alone plan for; in essence, there is no plan!  It’s not that I’m not prone to moments of spontaneity (I have a list as long as my entire body of items I purchased on a whim but never used, and it includes a violin and CDJ decks) but I do like to know what’s happening next, so jetting off to live in another country with no job is going to be a scary but liberating experience.

I’m jumping head first into a scenario where I won’t know what the coins in my purse are worth, how to turn my mobile phone Canadian or where to get the bus to the mountains, but the thought of living without any trace of a plan is strangely refreshing.  And if it all goes wrong, at least I’m in good company…

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About MarmitetoMaple

I'm originally from the UK and have been working and living the dream in Vancouver, BC, since January 2011. I am a firm believer in travel, good cheese, volunteering and community engagement.

4 responses to “The Final Countdown”

  1. Stavroula says :

    Hey, you have a flat waiting and that’s almost half way there. It’s not going to go all wrong. You’re living the dream! Just close your eyes and enjoy it before the alarm goes off (in a year!). All the best.

  2. Rebecca says :

    All airport codes in Canada start with a Y. I have no idea why (hardy-harhar). I am sure wikipedia knows though. Just a fun fact otherwise:-)

    So exciting!

  3. Louise Moodie says :

    This is exactly how I’m feeling just now, though I still have a little over 3 months before I leave. But the thought of packing alone makes me break out in a sweat, never mind not having a place to stay or job lined up… But sure it’ll all work out, right?!

    • marmitetomaple says :

      YES it will! It’s important to be realistic, but I do wish I hadn’t spent so much time worrying in my final days at home and just enjoyed the experience a little bit more. 5,000+ Brits move to Canada every year and it always works out, so you’ll be fine! 🙂

Leave a Reply

