2011: The Year of the Maple Leaf

Here we are once again at January 1st, the beginning of another new year, a fresh start, and a collection of well meaning resolutions to help us on our way to a fitness/weight loss/learning a new skill/giving up a vice utopia.  I’m well aware that by the time I publish this post many of us will have broken at least one of our precious promises (probably the one involving chocolate or smoking), but for those of you who are working hard to keep your pledges, I thought I’d add a few of my own resolutions for 2011, or The Year of the Maple Leaf as it shall now be known.

1. Always say YES – This particular gem of advice was given to me by two lovely friends this morning, and comes with the tag line ‘you can always say no later on…’ Following this instruction too literally could obviously land one in all manner of sticky situations, however the general gist is to be positive, flexible and open-minded to new opportunities (both business and pleasure) as you never know where they might lead.

2. Remember I’m in CANADA– Not that I’m likely to forget my geographical location at any point, but I can see already how all too easy it would be to get settled into a routine and simply replicate my life in the UK in Vancouver.  A working holiday visa is a once in a lifetime opportunity so I want to make sure I make the most of it and do things I wouldn’t be able to over here, like going to watch ice hockey, driving to the Rockies, rollerblading round Stanley Park and improving my snowboarding.

Wishful thinking...

3. Do what I WANT to do… – …not what I think I should do. For example, I could look for work at a University in Vancouver because that’s what I do at the moment so is a natural career step, however is that what I actually want to do? To be completely honest I’m not really sure what I really want to do, but when I work it out I’ll write it down in big red letters and stick it to my fridge so I won’t forget.

4. Have FUN! – Sounds obvious, but relates closely to resolution number three, in that if I’m not enjoying something then why do it?  I could get a sensible job at a good company working in a big office from 9am – 5pm Monday to Friday, but doing something boring for the sake if it is not the aim of the game. The point of moving half way across the world is to spend a memorable year living in a great city, doing and experiencing new things, all conducive to having fun!

I think four resolutions are enough for 2011, all of them specific enough to give me purpose yet vague enough to explain away if I fail. That’s if I fail, not when, as these are four promises I’m confident I can keep.  And if I don’t, they’re subjective enough so I’ll be the only one who knows…

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About MarmitetoMaple

I'm originally from the UK and have been working and living the dream in Vancouver, BC, since January 2011. I am a firm believer in travel, good cheese, volunteering and community engagement.

Leave a Reply

