The To-Do List of all To-Do Lists

With seven weeks and two days left until I leave the country, and three weeks and two days until I leave my flat and job to go and stay with my parents for Christmas (not that I’m counting of course), it’s about time I started doing things.  I’m a great believer in lists (ticking off accomplished tasks makes me feel better about having lots to do), and a move such as this requires the ultimate of to-do lists.

I’m sure this list will change dramatically in the next month as unforeseen things get added and unnecessary tasks get removed, but here is version 1.0, nicely divided into areas of my life:

My Flat

  • Hand in written notice to lettings agent one month prior to move-out date (tick)
  • Get reference from lettings agent (scan and save)
  • Get reference from previous landlord/housemates (scan and save)
  • Cancel electricity (tick)
  • Cancel council tax (tick)
  • Cancel TV license (and get refund)
  • Cancel Sky (TV and internet) (tick)
  • Cancel BT line rental (tick)
  • Cancel contents insurance
  • Book professional cleaning

My Car (actually my boyfriend’s, so I don’t have to do much in this section)

  • Sell or store car (decide which!)
  • Book service/MOT
  • Cancel car insurance

My Job

  • Hand in written notice to line manager (tick)
  • Get reference from manager and other partners I’ve worked with
  • Make a note of contact details for key work contacts
  • Write my Canadian resume (more than one, tailored to job areas)
  • Send CV to recruitment agencies in Vancouver, and arrange appointment for January
  • Search and apply for jobs
  • Send off speculative applications to companies I’d like to work for

Every list has to start somewhere...

My Health

  • Make a doctor’s appointment for necessary prescriptions
  • Make a dentist appointment for check up and necessary treatment (tick)
  • Make an optician’s appointment for updated eye test (tick)
  • Purchase new glasses I can actually see out of (tick)
  • Cancel optician’s direct debit
  • Stock up on contact lenses

 

My Finances

  • Change address of bank accounts to my parents’ house
  • Order new cheque books
  • Check to see if new bank cards expire soon, order new ones if necessary
  • Close any unused bank accounts
  • Print off and store final bank statements
  • Order Canadian dollars/travellers cheques

Misc Bits

  • Buy an address book and write down key contacts (friends, family, doctor, dentist etc.)
  • Sort various paperwork (final bills etc.) into nice neat box file to leave with parents
  • Redirect/cancel magazine subscriptions
  • Look into redirecting mail

That’s long enough for now, particularly as there aren’t many ticks and it doesn’t include anything to do with packing things, selling things and sorting things to take back to my parents’, and then sorting things and packing things to actually go to Canada.  Fitting all my worldly possessions into one suitcase doesn’t bear thinking about right now…so I’m not.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About MarmitetoMaple

I'm originally from the UK and have been working and living the dream in Vancouver, BC, since January 2011. I am a firm believer in travel, good cheese, volunteering and community engagement.

2 responses to “The To-Do List of all To-Do Lists”

  1. Stavroula says :

    That’s an impressive start. I’ve already got started on a list, which I have now relegated to gathering dust while mentally I keep adding more things to it and now I don’t know where to start. To-do list fail.

  2. Heather says :

    Actually, I was going to say I was impressed with how many items you have ticked but then I read you said it wasn’t enough 😉 I do remember that feeling!!

    Time will fly and you’ll be living the dream before you know it!

Leave a Reply

