From Fantasy to Reality

So now I’ve booked my flights, told my employer and started clearing out my flat, it’s come the time to tell my family, friends, acquaintances, colleagues, and anyone else who stands still long enough to listen.  All I’ve done for the past 18 months is talk about how I want to live in Canada and I’m ‘hoping’ to be going out for a year in January 2011 (all the while covering my back with ready-made excuses in case it didn’t happen), so now it’s actually happening I thought the first thing I’d want to do is shout it from the rooftops to anyone and everyone in earshot.

Whilst that’s true, and I definitely have been (well, shouting it silently from Facebook and Twitter at any rate), telling other people about my plans has had one effect that I didn’t expect – it’s made me really, genuinely nervous for the first time.  Obviously I’ve thought my decision to go on a working holiday through properly, taking into account everything that could go wrong, but I’ve never really seriously considered that I would have anything but the world’s most amazing time.  Telling other people about my plans has transformed them from a warm and cosy fantasy inside my head to a somewhat colder reality; it all seems very real all of a sudden.

I wonder why everyone wants to come and visit...

Saying that, I have been very lucky with my responses, and the vast majority of people I’ve told have been overwhelmingly positive, full of advice, and incredibly excited for me.  My family have been very supportive of my decision (although I’m not sure they believed I’d actually go through with it) and my parents are already making plans to come and visit for the end of the ski season in March.  So many friends have said they want to come and visit, and I really hope that some of them do.

If anyone else out there is planning a similar adventure but didn’t quite get the response they were hoping for, hang on in there.  Ultimately, you’re not choosing to do this because it’s what your friends and family want to do, you’re doing it because it’s what you want to do.  I appreciate that’s easy for me to say as I’ve been so lucky with my responses, but I do honestly believe that the power of positive thinking can get you anywhere.  If you’re lacking that, a working holiday visa can help too.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About MarmitetoMaple

I'm originally from the UK and have been working and living the dream in Vancouver, BC, since January 2011. I am a firm believer in travel, good cheese, volunteering and community engagement.

Leave a Reply

