“I’ve got some exciting news…”

I didn’t think I’d be writing this post just yet, but this week I told my manager that I will be leaving work at Christmas.  I didn’t actually hand in my notice as I only have to give one month in writing (and I’ve got 2 months, 2 weeks and 1 day until I leave….but who’s counting?) however I made the decision to give informal, advanced notice to my colleagues.

I initially wasn’t planning on saying anything until the end of October at least, but I was keen to give my department time to start the recruitment process for my replacement as early as possible and ensure that a comprehensive handover procedure can be put into place.  That and I’d already told a few of the colleagues I’m closest to, word was starting to spread, and the thought of my managers finding out from someone else other than me scared me into making a snap decision.

How not to tell your manager...

It wasn’t the best timing I admit.  We recently lost three staff in a spate of voluntary redundancies, one colleague is leaving at Christmas to go on maternity leave, and another handed in her notice this week to also leave at Christmas.  However, I took the plunge and went for the ‘I’ve got some exciting news..!’ approach, rather than starting with an apology and coming across as negative from the outset.  Luckily it paid off, my manager was incredibly supportive of my decision, and very happy for me.  She has worked abroad herself, so fully understood my reasons for wanting to leave, and instantly gave me so much helpful advice.

Now it’s out in the open it is somewhat of a relief, but has also made my dream of two years seem rather more real.  For the first time the nerves are starting to kick in, and I’m beginning to realise how quickly the next 2 months, 2 weeks and 1 day are going to fly by.  On that note, I’d better get back to work…

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About MarmitetoMaple

I'm originally from the UK and have been working and living the dream in Vancouver, BC, since January 2011. I am a firm believer in travel, good cheese, volunteering and community engagement.

One response to ““I’ve got some exciting news…””

  1. Lisa says :

    Love your blog! Espesh love this bit…..
    (It’s sooo gonna happen!!)

    ‘give my department time to start the recruitment process for my replacement as early as possible and ensure that a comprehensive handover procedure can be put into place’

Leave a Reply

