Canada Calling…

So, this week I did something that many (myself included) would call life-changing.

With one click of a laptop mouse pad I’d booked a flight to Vancouver, leaving London Heathrow on January 11th2011.  One further click uploaded my travel insurance details, and a third and final click opened an email confirming that my one year Working Holiday Visa will be waiting for me when I arrive on the other side of the pond in little under four months.

My current return date is set for August 2011, but I’ll be extending this until the end of December (as close to Christmas as is sensible to fly) as soon as I’m able.  I’m not sure yet what job I’m going to do, where I’m going to live, or whether I’m going to make any friends.  I’ve convinced my boyfriend to come along for the ride, and he’s not sure what’s going to happen either.

The first thing I felt after submitting my details to BUNAC was relief (from breaking out of the ‘will-I-won’t-I’ debate that’s been going on in my head for over a year) followed almost immediately by a combination of fear, concern and uncertainty, epitomised by the ever-foreboding ‘What if?’.  What if I can’t find anywhere to live? What if I come back to the UK and the recession has got worse? What if I don’t like maple syrup?

My what-ifs started to meander down a different route. What if I there was a way I could keep my friends and family up to date with how it’s going, both in the UK and in the City of Glass?  What if I could let other working holiday makers know how to get started, and what happens when you get off the plane at the other side?  What if I could offer hints, tips and advice based on my experiences over the next year and a half?

It turns out that some what-ifs are easier to answer than others (particularly in the age of the internet), and Marmite to Maple was born.   I hope you find this blog interesting, informative, and dare I say inspiring, whilst I find out the answers to the rest.  BC here I come!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About MarmitetoMaple

I'm originally from the UK and have been working and living the dream in Vancouver, BC, since January 2011. I am a firm believer in travel, good cheese, volunteering and community engagement.

Leave a Reply

